Scroll to content
Bennerley Fields School home page

Bennerley Fields School

Nurture. Support. Aspire. Achieve.

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is made up of seven areas of learning and we give particular focus to language and communication, social skills, self-help skills and developing exploration and play skills.


The prime areas are:


  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development


Specific areas:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Creative development.
  • Understanding The World


There is a multi-sensory approach to the curriculum and activities are carefully planned to provide all children with opportunities to develop a wide range of skills and concepts. Each term activities are based on a topic e.g. ‘All about me’ and theme related activities are planned to provide indoor and outdoor learning opportunities.